Creative of the month

Aesthetics that make you look

 

Starting in 2022, the renowned photographer Rita Newman will be entrusted with the content and artistic direction of the new master's programme Digital Photography & New Visual Media at St. Pölten UAS.

Her portraits tell of personalities, her food photography makes you gusto and the garden views invite you to pause. When Rita Newman talks about her work, she also mentions camera and lighting techniques. Of course, mastering the tools is a prerequisite for professional work. In her experience, however, extraordinary perspectives only emerge when one enters into resonance with the subject. When you get involved with the subject at hand. When not only hand and computer work, but also head and gut. "If you want to develop your own visual language, you need time for reflection," says Newman.

Developing your own visual language
From 2022, students will learn how to do this in detail in the new master's programme at St. Pölten University of Applied Sciences, which Rita Newman has developed with Markus Wagner. "Digital Photography & New Visual Media" is the name of the part-time programme, unique in Austria, for students who need to have a solid photographic basis to apply.

"Our goal is to guide students on the path to their own visual language with a certain technical extra," says Newman. In the four semesters, the photographers should find clarity about the crucial questions: What makes me marvel and how do I infect others with it? Or how can I tell exciting stories through new technical possibilities like augmented reality? "We want to empower the students to acquire skills to profitably position their own as well as the client's tailor-made aesthetics on the market."

Rita Newman - Photography & Image Concept
www.newman.at

Master's Programme Digital Photography & New Visual Media / FH St. Pölten
www.fhstp.ac.at/ldp

Photos: Rita Newman

Creative des Monats

Ästhetik, die zum Hinschauen bewegt

 

Ab 2022 wird die renommierte Fotografin Rita Newman mit der inhaltlichen und künstlerischen Leitung des neuen Masterlehrgangs Digital Photography & New Visual Media an der FH St. Pölten betraut.

Ihre Porträts erzählen von Persönlichkeiten, ihre Food-Fotografie macht Gusto und die Gartenansichten laden zum Innehalten ein. Wenn Rita Newman über ihre Arbeit spricht, ist auch von Kamera- und Lichttechnik die Rede. Klar, das Beherrschen der Werkzeuge sind Voraussetzung für professionelles Arbeiten. Außergewöhnliche Perspektiven entstehen ihrer Erfahrung nach allerdings erst, wenn man in Resonanz mit dem Gegenüber geht. Wenn man sich auf das jeweilige Thema einlässt. Wenn nicht nur Hand und Computer arbeiten, sondern auch Kopf und Bauch. „Wer seine eigene Bildsprache entwickeln will, braucht Zeit für Reflexion“, so Newmans Herangehensweise.

Die eigene Bildsprache entwickeln
Wie das im Detail gelingen kann, erfährt man ab 2022 im neuen Masterlehrgang an der FH St. Pölten, den Rita Newman mit Markus Wagner entwickelt hat. „Digital Photography & New Visual Media“ heißt das in Österreich einzigartige, berufsbegleitende Angebot für Studierende, die zur Bewerbung eine solide fotografische Basis mitbringen müssen.

„Unser Ziel ist es, die Studierenden auf dem Weg zur eigenen Bildsprache mit dem gewissen technischen Extra zu begleiten,“ sagt Newman. In den vier Semestern sollen die FotografInnen Klarheit über die entscheidenden Fragen finden: Was bringt mich zum Staunen und wie stecke ich andere damit an? Oder wie kann ich durch neue technische Möglichkeiten wie Augmented Reality spannende Geschichten erzählen? „Wir wollen die Studierenden ermächtigen, Kompetenzen zu erwerben, um ihre eigene als auch für den Auftraggeber maßgeschneiderte Ästhetik gewinnbringend auf dem Markt zu positionieren.“

Rita Newman – Fotografie & Bildkonzept
www.newman.at

Masterlehrgang Digital Photography & New Visual Media / FH St. Pölten
www.fhstp.ac.at/ldp

Fotos: Rita Newman