Creative of the month

Anna Menecia Antenete Hambira and her unisex label //amaaena// in the AFA's HOW TO FASHION video series.

 

Anna Menecia Antenete Hambira is in the process of launching her unisex label //amaaena// and talks about socio-political responsibility, her sources of inspiration, interdisciplinary work and more in the Austrian Fashion Association's HOW TO FASHION video series.

Photos: Excerpts from the AFA's HOW TO FASHION video with //amaaena//

The fashion designer with Namibian and German roots not only wants to give visibility to marginalized groups like BIPOC and LGBQT through her work, but also to convey pride and self-confidence to all people, regardless of their clothing size, sexual orientation or skin color. For her currently emerging collection //_ I_OWN MY LIGHT PINK_// she was supported by the Austrian Fashion Association 's AFA support program in 2020 and was part of the Vienna Business Agency's Founders Lab - Creative Industries program. Besides her work as a fashion designer, Anna Menecia Antenete Hambira also works as an artist and creative director in Vienna.

 

HOW TO FASHION presents Austrian fashion designers and labels working in Austria whose work stands out in different ways. They are interviewed in their working environment, their ateliers, studios and shops, each on a topic that is particularly significant for their work, thus providing insight not only into their work, but also into their lives and working environments. The series focuses on changing themes such as socio-political responsibility, sustainability, inclusion or interdisciplinarity, which are as topical for society as they are central to the work of the labels presented. In HOW TO FASHION they explain how they succeed in translating their concerns into fashion. The video talks, lasting just a few minutes, provide food for thought and reveal in an entertaining way the complex of issues that domestic fashion designers deal with, how they work, how they manage to be successful and what they struggle with.

 

Watch the video: HOW TO FASHION with amaaena

amaaena

Creative des Monats

Anna Menecia Antenete Hambira und ihr Unisex-Label //amaaena// in der Videoreihe HOW TO FASHION der AFA

 

Anna Menecia Antenete Hambira ist gerade dabei, ihr Unisex-Label //amaaena// zu gründen und spricht in der Videoreihe HOW TO FASHION der Austrian Fashion Association über gesellschaftspolitische Verantwortung, ihre Inspirationsquellen, interdisziplinäres Arbeiten und mehr.

Fotos: Auszüge aus dem Video HOW TO FASHION der AFA mit //amaaena//

Die Modedesignerin mit namibischen und deutschen Wurzeln will durch ihre Arbeit marginalisierten Gruppen wie BIPOC und LGBQT nicht nur Sichtbarkeit verschaffen, sondern allen Menschen, unabhängig von ihrer Konfektionsgröße, ihrer sexuellen Orientierung oder ihrer Hautfarbe Stolz und Selbstbewusstsein vermitteln. Für ihre derzeit entstehende Kollektion //_ I_OWN MY LIGHT PINK_// wurde sie 2020 durch das Förderungsprogramm AFA support der Austrian Fashion Association unterstützt und war Teil des Programms Founders Lab – Creative Industries der Wirtschaftsagentur Wien. Neben ihrer Arbeit als Modedesignerin arbeitet Anna Menecia Antenete Hambira auch als Künstlerin und Kreativdirektorin in Wien.

 

HOW TO FASHION präsentiert österreichische und in Österreich arbeitende Modedesignerinnen und -designer und Labels, deren Arbeit auf unterschiedliche Art und Weise besonders herausragt. Sie werden in ihrem Arbeitsumfeld, ihren Ateliers, Studios und Shops zu jeweils einem für ihre Arbeit besonders bezeichnenden Thema befragt und geben damit nicht nur Einblick in ihr Schaffen, sondern auch in ihre Lebens- und Arbeitswelt. Im Mittelpunkt der Reihe stehen wechselnde Themengebiete wie u. a. gesellschaftspolitische Verantwortung, Nachhaltigkeit, Inklusion oder Interdisziplinarität, die ebenso gesellschaftlich aktuell wie für die Arbeit der präsentierten Labels zentral sind. Wie es ihnen gelingt, ihre Anliegen in Mode zu übersetzen, erklären sie im Rahmen von HOW TO FASHION. Die wenige Minuten dauernden Video-Gespräche geben Denkanstöße und eröffnen auf kurzweilige Art, mit welchen Themenkomplexen sich heimische Modedesigner_innen auseinandersetzen, wie sie arbeiten, wie sie es schaffen, erfolgreich zu sein und womit sie kämpfen.

 

Zum Video: HOW TO FASHION mit amaaena

amaaena