florian wehde rCOpnW9mxvc unsplash

Berlin: Artistic freedom and global networks

Cosmopolitanism and constant change characterise the capital and allow new ideas to flourish. More and more creative people are relocating to the Spree and are inspired by Berlin's unique atmosphere.

Artistic freedom, exceptional exhibition spaces, global networks and a design-interested public - all this can be found in Berlin. In ICT, media and creative industries, almost 40,00 companies are active in the Berlin cluster and 332,000 people are employed. The scene is thus enormous and an important component of the business location.

Greater Berlin is one of the leading locations when it comes to digital, media, culture and creativity. The city, with well over 3.6 million inhabitants, offers an ideal basis for the development, advancement and distribution of new content and mobile applications in forward-looking areas.

Companies like Axel Springer, Deutsche Telekom, Mozilla, Nokia, Universal Music or Viacom International Media Networks have their headquarters in Berlin. Start-ups such as Zalando, Sound Cloud, 6wunderkinder, Onefootball or Wooga are just some of the more recent success stories as they are written in Berlin.

Media/film industry and broadcasting industry
The region's media landscape includes companies from film and television, games and Web 2.0, publishing and communications. As the political centre of Germany, Berlin is the news capital. All major international broadcasters, news agencies and editorial offices are represented here.
Thanks to optimal production conditions, the capital region also exerts a strong attraction on producers from all over the world. With over 5,700 shooting days in 2019, the region once again reached a record. Among the approximately 250 productions per year, a whole range of major international productions and series have been created.

Art market
Berlin is home to over 5,000 artists and has more than 300 galleries. The art market in Berlin is very lively, with galleries from all over the world settling here. New event formats are constantly being created. The spectrum of the Berlin art market ranges from online portals to small galleries to internationally renowned houses.

Fashion/Design
Around 3,100 companies are active in Berlin's fashion industry, which generates sales of around 6.3 billion euros. In 2021, Berlin Fashionweek was realigned. The programmes bridge the gap between contemporary fashion and various creative genres and ensure high media visibility with analogue and digital formats. The topic of sustainability is always held high in Berlin. Numerous studios for fashion, graphic, jewellery and furniture design are located here. The range of courses offered by the state art colleges and various privately funded further education institutes covers a broad spectrum of design-oriented subjects. Berlin offers the most training centres for fashion and clothing design in Europe.

Music
From electro to rock, pop, hip-hop, jazz and classical music - the diversity and internationality of the music industry is more concentrated in Berlin than in any other place in Germany. Thanks to the location of large companies, the creative medium-sized music scene, the multi-faceted club culture, hundreds of performances and concerts every day of the week, 365 days a year and events with international appeal, Berlin has established itself as the music capital of Germany in recent years.

Festivals/Events
Known worldwide as a creative centre and start-up metropolis, Berlin hosts important international festivals and trade fairs for the media and communications industry. IT-related research in the region is world-class and the growth rates of Berlin's ICT industry are above average.
As a cross-sectional technology, the digital economy forms the basis for future industries such as energy, healthcare and mobility. As a "smart city", Berlin offers an ideal practical laboratory for this.

 

Your coworking space:

The betahaus Berlin-Kreuzberg is known for its active community. Accordingly, the space in the old taz building has many communal areas. Whether it's a roof terrace or a garden for the community. When dividing up the space, care was taken to put the exchange between betahaus members in the foreground. You can also meet colleagues and customers in the in-house café and chat informally.

The spaces were occupied in 2019 and are correspondingly modern. Nevertheless, betahaus is not slick or too clean. Everything here is a bit more rustic. Wood dominates the rather minimalist furnishings. High walls and windows provide a lot of light. Tables and chairs are sometimes ergonomic and modern and sometimes reminiscent of a primary school. The mix makes up the furnishings and thus the charm on the five floors. Members can use both the telephone boxes and the meeting rooms at no extra cost. In addition, there is of course a coffee flat rate. You can also take part in events free of charge. Conversely, this also means that you can use betahaus as an event location. Networking, community, exchange - these are not just buzzwords here, they are lived values.

www.betahaus.com

 

Your partner in Berlin:

Foreign Trade Centre Berlin
Stauffenbergstrasse 1
10785 Berlin, Germany
+49 30 25 75 75 0
berlin@wko.at
https://wko.at/aussenwirtschaft/de

Berlin: Künstlerische Freiheit und globale Netzwerke

Weltoffenheit und ein ständiger Wandel zeichnen die Hauptstadt aus und ermöglichen die Entfaltung neuer Ideen. Immer mehr Kreative verlegen ihren Arbeits- und Lebensmittelpunkt an die Spree und lassen sich von Berlins ganz eigener Atmosphäre inspirieren.

Künstlerische Freiheit, außergewöhnliche Ausstellungsflächen, globale Netzwerke und ein designinteressiertes Publikum – das alles findet man in Berlin. In IKT, Medien- und Kreativwirtschaft sind beinahe 40.00 Unternehmen im Cluster Berlin tätig und 332.000 Erwerbstätige beschäftigt. Die Szene ist damit enorm groß und ein wichtiger Bestandteil des Wirtschaftsstandorts.

Der Großraum Berlin ist einer der führenden Standorte wenn es um Digitales, Medien, Kultur und Kreativität geht. Die Stadt mit weit mehr als 3,6 Millionen Einwohnerinnen und Einwohnern bietet eine ideale Grundlage für die Entwicklung, Weiterentwicklung und den Vertrieb neuer Inhalte und mobiler Anwendungen in zukunftsweisenden Bereichen.

Unternehmen wie Axel Springer, Deutsche Telekom, Mozilla, Nokia, Universal Music oder Viacom International Media Networks haben ihren Sitz in Berlin. Start-ups wie Zalando, Sound Cloud, 6wunderkinder, Onefootball oder Wooga sind nur einige der jüngeren Erfolgsgeschichten, wie sie in Berlin geschrieben werden.

Medien/Filmwirtschaft und Rundfunkwirtschaft
Die Medienlandschaft der Region umfasst Unternehmen aus Film und Fernsehen, Games und Web 2.0, Verlagswesen und Kommunikation. Als politisches Zentrum Deutschlands ist Berlin die Nachrichten-Hauptstadt. Alle großen internationalen Sender, Nachrichtenagenturen und Redaktionen sind hier vertreten.
Dank optimaler Produktionsbedingungen übt die Hauptstadtregion auch auf Produzentinnen und Produzenten aus aller Welt eine starke Anziehungskraft aus. Mit über 5.700 Drehtagen in 2019 erreichte die Region erneut einen Rekord. Unter den jährlich ca. 250 Produktionen sind eine ganze Reihe internationaler Großproduktionen und Serien entstanden.

Kunstmarkt
In Berlin leben über 5.000 Künstlerinnen und Künstler und es sind mehr als 300 Galerien vertreten. Der Kunstmarkt in Berlin ist sehr lebendig, Galerien aus aller Welt siedeln sich hier an. Stetig entstehen neue Veranstaltungsformate. Die Bandbreite des Berliner Kunstmarktes reicht von Online-Portalen über kleine Galerien bis zu international renommierten Häusern.

Mode/Design
Rund 3.100 Unternehmen sind in der Berliner Modebranche tätig, die Umsätze in Höhe von rund 6,3 Mrd Euro erwirtschaftet. 2021 wurde die Berliner Fashionweek neu ausgerichtet. Die Programme schlagen die Brücke zwischen zeitgenössischer Mode und verschiedenen Kreativgenres und sorgen mit analogen und digitalen Formaten für hohe mediale Sichtbarkeit. Das Thema Nachhaltigkeit wird in Berlin stets hochgehalten. Zahlreiche Ateliers für Mode-, Grafik-, Schmuck- und Möbeldesign sind hier ansässig. Das Angebot der staatlichen Kunsthochschulen und diverser privat getragener Weiterbildungsinstitute deckt ein breites Spektrum an designorientierten Studienfächern ab. Berlin bietet die meisten Ausbildungsstätten für Mode- und Bekleidungsdesign in Europa.

Musik
Von Elektro über Rock, Pop, HipHop, Jazz bis zur Klassik – die Vielfältigkeit und Internationalität der Musikwirtschaft ist in Berlin so konzentriert wie an keinem anderen Ort in Deutschland. Durch die Ansiedlung großer Unternehmen, die kreative mittelständische Musikszene, die facettenreiche Clubkultur, hunderte von Auftritten und Konzerten an jedem Tag der Woche, 365 Tage im Jahr und Veranstaltungen mit internationaler Strahlkraft hat sich Berlin in den vergangenen Jahren als Musikhauptstadt in Deutschland etabliert.

Festivals/Veranstaltungen
Als kreatives Zentrum und Startup-Metropole weltweit bekannt, finden in Berlin wichtige internationale Festivals und Messen der Medien- und Kommunikationsbranche statt. IT-bezogene Forschung in der Region hat Weltniveau und die Wachstumsraten der Berliner IKT-Branche sind überdurchschnittlich hoch.
Als Querschnittstechnologie bildet die digitale Wirtschaft die Basis für Zukunftsbranchen wie Energiewirtschaft, Gesundheitswirtschaft und Mobilität. Dafür bietet Berlin als „Smart City“ ein ideales Praxislabor.

 

Dein Coworking Space:

Das betahaus Berlin-Kreuzberg ist bekannt für seine aktive Community. Das Space im alten taz-Gebäude hat dementsprechend viele Gemeinschaftsflächen. Egal ob Dachterrasse oder ein Garten für die Community. Bei der Aufteilung der Flächen wurde darauf geachtet, den Austausch zwischen den betahaus-Mitgliedern in den Vordergrund zu stellen. Im hauseigenem Café könnt ihr euch zudem mit Kollegen und Kunden treffen und informell plauschen.

Die Flächen wurden 2019 bezogen und sind dementsprechend modern. Trotzdem ist das betahaus nicht aalglatt oder zu sauber. Hier ist alles etwas rustikaler. Holz dominiert die eher minimalistische Ausstattung. Hohe Wände und Fenster spenden viel Licht. Tische und Stühle sind mal ergonomisch und modern und mal erinnern sie an eine Grundschule. Der Mix macht die Einrichtung und damit den Charme auf den fünf Etagen aus. Die Mitglieder können ohne weitere Kosten sowohl die Telefonboxen als auch die Meetingräuem nutzen. Zudem gibt es natürlich eine Kaffee-Flatrate. An Events könnt ihr ebenfalls kostenfrei teilnehmen. Umgekehrt heißt dies natürlich auch: ihr könnt das betahaus als Event-Location nutzen. Netzwerk, Gemeinschaft, Austausch – hier sind es nicht nur Schlagworte, sondern gelebte Werte.

www.betahaus.com

 

Dein Partner in Berlin:

AußenwirtschaftsCenter Berlin
Stauffenbergstraße 1
10785 Berlin, Deutschland
+49 30 25 75 75 0
[email protected]
https://wko.at/aussenwirtschaft/de